沃森做什麼?

by 四月13,2022Cognos 分析0評論

抽象

IBM Cognos Analytics 在 11.2.1 版中已經紋上了 Watson 的名字。 他的全名現在是 IBM Cognos Analytics with Watson 11.2.1,以前稱為 IBM Cognos Analytics。  但是這個 Watson 到底在哪裡,它有什麼作用呢?    

 

簡而言之,Watson 帶來了注入人工智能的自助服務功能。 您的新“Clippy”,實際上是 AI 助手,為數據準備、分析和報告創建提供指導。 當 Watson Moments 認為它對數據分析有一些有用的貢獻時,它就會介入。 Cognos Analytics with Watson 提供了一種引導式體驗,可以解釋組織的意圖並通過建議的路徑為他們提供支持,從而改進決策制定。

 

認識新的沃森

由亞瑟·康南·道爾博士發明的虛構醫生沃森扮演偵探夏洛克·福爾摩斯的陪襯。 受過教育且聰明的沃森經常觀察明顯的問題並就看似不一致的問題提出問題。 然而,他的推理能力無法與福爾摩斯相提並論。

 

這不是我們正在談論的 Watson。  沃森 也是IBM以其創始人命名的AI(人工智能)項目。 Watson 於 2011 年作為 Jeopardy 參賽者被介紹給世界。 因此,從根本上講,Watson 是一個可以用自然語言進行查詢和響應的計算機系統。 從那時起,IBM 將 Watson 標籤應用於與機器學習及其所謂的 AI 相關的許多不同計劃中。  

 

IBM 斷言:“IBM Watson 是商業人工智能。 Watson 幫助組織預測未來結果、自動化複雜流程並優化員工時間。” 嚴格來說,人工智能是一種可以模仿人類思維或認知的計算機系統。 今天,人工智能的大部分內容實際上是解決問題、自然語言處理 (NLP) 或機器學習 (ML)。    

 

IBM 有許多不同的軟件 應用 融入了 Watson 在自然語言處理、搜索和決策方面的能力。 這是 Watson 作為使用 NLP 的聊天機器人。 這是 Watson 擅長的領域之一。  IBM Cognos Analytics 與 Watson 聊天機器人

 

曾經被稱為 Cognos BI 的是 現在品牌 IBM Cognos Analytics with Watson 11.2.1,以前稱為 IBM Cognos Analytics。    

 

IBM Cognos Analytics 與 Watson 概覽

https://www.ibm.com/common/ssi/ShowDoc.wss?docURL=/common/ssi/rep_ca/4/760/ENUSJP21-0434/index.html&lang=en&request_locale=en

 

作為笨拙的命名ICAW11.2.1FKAICA的總結, 

Cognos Analytics with Watson 是一種商業智能解決方案,可為用戶提供注入 AI 的自助服務功能。 它加速了數據準備、分析和報告創建。 Cognos Analytics with Watson 讓您可以更輕鬆地在整個組織中可視化數據並共享可操作的見解,從而促進更多數據驅動的決策。 它的功能使用戶能夠減少或消除對許多先前任務的 IT 干預,提供更多自助服務選項,提升企業的分析專業知識,並使組織能夠更有效地獲取洞察力。

 

Cognos Analytics with Watson 提供了一種引導式體驗,可以解釋組織的意圖並通過建議的路徑為他們提供支持,從而改進決策制定。 此外,可以將 Cognos Analytics with Watson 部署在本地、雲中或兩者兼而有之。

沃森在哪裡?

 

這些“注入人工智能的自助服務能力”是什麼? 什麼是 Watson 部分? Watson 部分是“引導體驗”、“[解釋] 組織的意圖”,並提供“建議路徑”。 這是人工智能的開始——綜合數據並提出建議。 

 

什麼是 Watson,什麼不是? Watson 從哪裡開始,以前稱為 IBM Cognos Analytics 的產品從哪裡結束? 老實說,這很難說。 Cognos Analytics “注入”了 Watson。 這不是一個螺栓固定或新的菜單項。 沒有 Watson 按鈕。 IBM 表示,現在 Cognos Analytics 被打上以 Watson 為動力的品牌,受益於 IBM 其他業務部門一直在發展的設計理念和組織學習。

 

話雖如此,Watson Studio - 一個單獨的許可產品 - 已集成,因此,一旦配置,您現在可以將來自 Watson Studio 的筆記本嵌入到報告和儀表板中。 這使您可以利用 ML、SPSS Modeler 和 AutoAI 的強大功能進行高級分析和數據科學。

 

在 Cognos Analytics with Watson 中,您會發現 Watson 在 AI助手 這使您可以用自然語言提出問題並發現見解。 人工智能助手 使用 NLM 解析句子,包括語法、標點符號和拼寫。 IBM 沃森洞察 我發現,就像亞馬遜的 Alexa 和 Apple 的 Siri 一樣,有必要編寫或有時改寫您的問題以包含適當的上下文。 Google 助理可以幫助您執行的一些操作包括:

  • 建議問題 - 通過自然語言查詢提供您可以提出的問題列表
  • 查看數據源 - 顯示您有權訪問的數據源
  • 顯示數據源(列)詳細信息
  • 顯示列影響者——顯示影響初始列結果的字段
  • 創建圖表或可視化 - 推薦適當的圖表或可視化以最好地代表兩列,例如
  • 創建儀表板——給定一個數據源,這樣做
  • 通過自然語言生成註釋儀表板

 

是的,其中一些在 Cognos Analytics 中可用 11.1.0, 但它更先進 11.2.0.  

 

Watson 還在 Cognos Analytics 11.2.1 主頁上的“學習資源”的幕後使用,幫助搜索 IBM 和 b 中的資產road呃社區。 

 

在 11.2.0 版本中,“Watson Moments”首次亮相。 Watson Moments 是 Watson “認為”您可能感興趣的數據中的新發現。換句話說,當您使用 Assistant 構建儀表板時,它可能會檢測到與您詢問的字段相關的字段。 然後它可以提供比較這兩個字段的相關可視化。 這似乎是一個早期的實施,聽起來在不久的將來這個領域會有更多的發展。

 

我們還在具有智能數據準備功能的 AI 輔助數據模塊中看到了 Watson。 Watson 幫助完成重要的數據清理第一步。 算法可幫助您發現相關表以及可以自動連接哪些表。  

 

IBM 說 我們之所以在軟件和功能的標題中看到 Watson,是因為“IBM Watson 品牌有助於引起人們對人工智能自動化的重要意義的共鳴。”

 

Cognos Analytics with Watson 借鑒了研究團隊和 IBM Watson 服務——即使不是代碼也是概念。 IBM 通過 IBM Watson 服務紅皮書系列構建認知應用程序介紹了 7 卷的 Watson 認知計算。  第 1 卷:入門 很好地介紹了 Watson 和認知計算。 第一卷對認知計算的歷史、基本概念和特徵進行了非常易讀的介紹。

什麼是華生?

 

要了解什麼是 Watson,看看 IBM 賦予人工智能和認知系統的特徵是很有用的。 人類和認知系統

  1. 擴展人類能力. 人類善於深入思考和解決複雜問題; 計算機更擅長讀取、合成和處理大量數據。 
  2. 自然互動。  因此,專注於自然語言的識別和處理,
  3. 機器學習。  有了額外的數據,預測、決策或建議將得到改進。
  4. 隨著時間的推移適應。  與上面的 ML 類似,適應表示基於交互反饋循環改進推薦。

 

在談論人工智能時,很難不將技術擬人化。 其目的是開發具有理解、推理、學習和互動能力的認知系統。 這是 IBM 的既定方向。 期待 IBM 將更多這些功能帶到 Cognos Analytics 中,因為它使用了 Watson 品牌。

不是那麼初級

 

我們開始這篇文章談論演繹推理。  演繹 推理 是沒有不確定性的“if-this-then-that”邏輯。 “然而,歸納推理允許夏洛克 [福爾摩斯] 從觀察到的信息中進行推斷,以得出關於尚未觀察到的事件的結論……他廣泛的事實目錄幫助他在歸納推理方面取得飛躍,而其他人可能不會能夠懷上。”

 

考慮到 IBM Watson 的推理能力和豐富的參考資料,我認為“Sherlock”可能是一個更合適的名稱。

Cognos 分析Cognos 性能Cognos 故障排除ReportCard
Cognos 審計博客
Cognos 審計博客 – 適用於大型和高容量環境的提示和技巧

Cognos 審計博客 – 適用於大型和高容量環境的提示和技巧

約翰·博耶 (John Boyer) 和邁克·諾里斯 (Mike Norris) 的博客。 簡介 讓 Cognos Auditing 功能發揮作用以了解和了解您的用戶社區如何使用 Cognos 並幫助回答諸如以下問題:誰在使用系統? 他們是什麼報告...

閱讀更多

What Does Watson Do?

by Apr 13, 2022Cognos Analytics0 comments

Abstract

IBM Cognos Analytics has been tattooed with the Watson name in version 11.2.1.  His full name is now IBM Cognos Analytics with Watson 11.2.1, formerly known as IBM Cognos Analytics.  But where exactly is this Watson and what does it do?    

 

In short, Watson brings AI-infused self-service capabilities.  Your new “Clippy”, actually AI Assistant, offers guidance in data preparation, analysis, and report creation.  Watson Moments chimes in when it thinks it has something useful to contribute about its analysis of the data.  Cognos Analytics with Watson offers a guided experience that interprets an organization’s intent and supports them with a suggested path, leading to improved decision-making.

 

Meet the new Watson

Watson, the fictional doctor invented by Dr. Arthur Connan Doyle, played a foil to detective Sherlock Holmes.  Watson, who was educated and intelligent, often observed the obvious and asked questions about seeming inconsistencies.  His powers of deduction, however, were no match for those of Holmes.

 

That’s not the Watson we’re talking about.  Watson is also IBM’s AI (artificial intelligence) project named after its founder.  Watson was introduced to the world in 2011 as a Jeopardy contestant.  So, at its roots, Watson is a computer system which can be queried and responds with natural language.  Since that time, the Watson label has been applied by IBM to a number of different initiatives related to machine learning and what it calls AI.  

 

IBM asserts, “IBM Watson is AI for business.  Watson helps organizations predict future outcomes, automate complex processes, and optimize employees’ time.”  Strictly speaking, Artificial Intelligence is a computer system which can mimic human thinking or cognition.  Most of what passes for AI today is actually problem solving, Natural Language Processing (NLP) or Machine Learning (ML).    

 

IBM has a number of different software applications infused with Watson’s ability for Natural Language Processing, searching and decision-making.  This is Watson as a chatbot using NLP.  This is one area in which Watson excels.  IBM Cognos Analytics With Watson Chatbot

 

What was once known as Cognos BI, is now branded IBM Cognos Analytics with Watson 11.2.1, formerly known as IBM Cognos Analytics.    

 

IBM Cognos Analytics With Watson At A Glance

https://www.ibm.com/common/ssi/ShowDoc.wss?docURL=/common/ssi/rep_ca/4/760/ENUSJP21-0434/index.html&lang=en&request_locale=en

 

As a summary of the unwieldy named ICAW11.2.1FKAICA, 

Cognos Analytics with Watson is a business intelligence solution that empowers users with AI-infused self-service capabilities.  It accelerates data preparation, analysis, and report creation. Cognos Analytics with Watson makes it easier to visualize data and share actionable insights across your organization to foster more data-driven decisions. Its capabilities enable users to reduce or eliminate IT intervention for many previous tasks, providing more self-service options, advancing the analytic expertise of the enterprise, and enabling organizations to capture insights more efficiently.

 

Cognos Analytics with Watson offers a guided experience that interprets an organization’s intent and supports them with a suggested path, leading to improved decision-making. Additionally, Cognos Analytics with Watson can be deployed on-premises, in the cloud, or both.

Where’s Watson?

 

What are these “AI-infused self-service capabilities?”  What is the Watson part?  The Watson part is the “guided experience,” “[interpreting] an organization’s intent,” and providing a “suggested path.”  This is the start of AI — synthesizing data and making recommendations. 

 

What is Watson and what is not?  Where does Watson start and the product formerly known as IBM Cognos Analytics end?  To be honest, it’s hard to tell.  Cognos Analytics is “infused” with Watson.  It’s not a bolt-on or a new menu item.  There’s not a Watson button.  IBM is saying that Cognos Analytics, now that it’s branded as Watson-powered, benefits from design philosophy and organizational learning that other business units within IBM have been evolving.

 

That being said, Watson Studio — a separate licensed product — is integrated, so that, once configured, you now can embed notebooks from Watson Studio into reports and dashboards.  This allows you to leverage the power of ML, SPSS Modeler, and AutoAI for advanced analytics and data science.

 

In Cognos Analytics with Watson, you will find Watson influence in the AI Assistant that allows you to ask questions and discover insights in natural language.  The AI Assistant uses NLM to parse sentences, including grammar, punctuation and spelling. IBM Watson Insights I’ve found that, like Amazon’s Alexa and Apple’s Siri, it is necessary to compose or sometimes rephrase your question to include appropriate context.  Some of the actions the Assistant can assist you with include:

  • Suggest questions – provides a list of questions via Natural Language Query that you can ask
  • View data sources – shows data sources that you have access to
  • Show data source (column) details
  • Show column influencers – displays fields that influence the result of the initial column
  • Create a chart or visualization – recommends an appropriate chart or visualization to bests represent two columns, for example
  • Create a dashboard – given a data source, does just that
  • Annotates dashboards via Natural Language Generation

 

Yes, some of this was available in Cognos Analytics 11.1.0, but it is more advanced in 11.2.0.  

 

Watson is also used behind the scenes in “Learning Resources” on the Cognos Analytics 11.2.1 home page which assists searching for assets in IBM and the broader community. 

 

In the 11.2.0 release, “Watson Moments” made its debut.  Watson Moments are new discoveries in the data that Watson “thinks” you might be interested in.  In other words, while you’re building a dashboard using the Assistant, it may detect that there is a related field to the one you asked about.  It may then offer a relevant visualization comparing the two fields.   This does appear to be an early implementation and it sounds like there is going to be more development in this area in the near future.

 

We also see Watson in the AI-assisted data modules with intelligent data preparation features.  Watson helps with the important first step of data cleaning.   Algorithms help you discover related tables and which tables can be joined automatically.  

 

IBM says that the reason why we see Watson in the title of the software as well as features is that “the IBM Watson branding helps resonate how something significant has been automated by the AI.”

 

Cognos Analytics with Watson is borrowing from research teams and IBM Watson Services — concepts, if not code.  IBM introduces Watson cognitive computing in 7 volumes with the Building Cognitive Applications with IBM Watson Services Redbooks series.  Volume 1: Getting Started provides an excellent introduction to Watson and cognitive computing.  The first volume provides a very readable introduction to the history, basic concepts and characteristics of cognitive computing.

What’s Watson?

 

To understand what Watson is, it is useful to look at the characteristics that IBM ascribes to AI and cognitive systems. Humans and cognitive systems

  1. Extend human capabilities.  Humans are good at thinking deeply and solving complex problems; computers are better at reading, synthesizing, and processing huge amounts of data. 
  2. Natural interaction.  Thus, the focus on recognition and processing of natural language,
  3. Machine learning.  WIth additional data, predictions, decisions or recommendations will be improved.
  4. Adapt over time.  Similar to ML above, adapting represents improving recommendations based on the feedback loop of interactions.

 

In talking about Artificial Intelligence, it’s hard not to anthropomorphize the technology.  It is the intention to develop cognitive systems that have the capability to understand, reason, learn and interact.  This is IBM’s stated direction.  Expect IBM to bring more of these capabilities to Cognos Analytics now that it wears the Watson brand.

Not so elementary

 

We started this article talking about deductive reasoning.  Deductive reasoning is “if-this-then-that” logic which has no uncertainty.   “Inductive reasoning, however, allows Sherlock [Holmes] to extrapolate from the information observed in order to arrive at conclusions about events that have not been observed…His extensive catalogue of facts to help him make leaps with his inductive reasoning that others might not be able to conceive of.”

 

Considering IBM Watson’s skill at inferences and wealth of reference material, I think “Sherlock” might have been a more appropriate name.

Cognos AnalyticsCognos PerformanceCognos TroubleshootingReportCard
Cognos Auditing Blog
Cognos Auditing Blog – Tips and Tricks for Large & High Volume Environments

Cognos Auditing Blog – Tips and Tricks for Large & High Volume Environments

A blog by John Boyer and Mike Norris. Introduction It is important to have the Cognos Auditing capability working to know and understand how Cognos is being used by your user community and help answer questions like: Who is using the system? What reports are they...

Read More